Louis Philipson, MD, PhD, Professor of Medicine (Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism) and Director of the Kovler Diabetes Center has been selected as a 2018 recipient of the Order of Lincoln Award by Gov. Bruce Rauner.  The Order of Lincoln Award is the state’s highest honor of professional achievement and public service.

“This year’s Order of Lincoln recipients are an extraordinary group of individuals that truly embody President Lincoln’s relentless and passionate spirit for public service,” Gov. Rauner said. “They have positively changed their communities in numerous ways, and their contributions will impact Illinois and the world for generations to come. It is my honor to award them the Order of Lincoln.”

Dr. Philipson is a leading world authority on diabetes mellitus. He is the Founding Director of the Kovler Diabetes Center. His research focuses on the biophysical, molecular and genetic aspects of insulin secretion, and the genetics of diabetes. Dr. Philipson was a co-discoverer of insulin gene mutations causing neonatal diabetes, a novel class of mutations causing diabetes through beta-cell ER stress. These mutations are now known to be the second most common cause of permanent neonatal diabetes, as well as rare causes of later-onset diabetes. Dr. Philipson, together with his colleagues (Drs. Graeme Bell, Siri Atma Greeley and Rochelle Naylor) established the first United States registry for monogenic diabetes including neonatal diabetes and Mature Onset Diabetes of the Young (MODY).

Dr. Philipson has played a major role in raising awareness of monogenic diabetes in the United States and improved diagnosis and better treatment of patients with primary genetic forms of diabetes for which received the Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award  from the American College of Physicians.  Dr. Philipson currently serves as President of the Chicago/Northern Illinois American Diabetes Association (ADA) Board and is President-elect for Science and Medicine for the ADA.

On Saturday, May 5, 2018, The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will hold its 54th annual Convocation at the historic Coronado Theatre in Rockford, Illinois. There, members of the Academy will honor eight outstanding Illinoisans with the Order of Lincoln at a formal ceremony, concert and gala reception. These Laureates will join a cohort of 340 distinguished Illinois citizens so honored over the past 54 years.


Order of Lincoln – Philipson