Sean Pinney, MD, named Co-Director of Heart & Vascular Center, Director of Advanced Heart Failure, Transplant and Mechanical Circulatory Support

After a national search, cardiologist and heart failure expert Sean Pinney, MD, has been named Co-Director of the Heart & Vascular Center and Director of the Advanced Heart Failure, Transplant and Mechanical Circulatory Support Program at the University of Chicago Medicine. Pinney comes to UChicago Medicine from Mount Sinai Hospital in New York, where he led the advanced heart failure and cardiac transplantation programs. “Dr. Pinney is not only an experienced physician in advanced heart failure, but he has also provided novel insights into the care of adults with cardiomyopathies, coronary artery disease and cardiorenal syndromes,” said Everett Vokes, MD, Physician-in-Chief at UChicago Medicine and Biological Sciences … Read More

UChicago Medicine rises in US News’ hospital rankings

The University of Chicago Medicine has continued to improve in U.S. News & World Report’s annual survey of the country’s best hospitals, released July 28, moving up to having nine specialties ranked among the top 50 in the nation, including six in the top 25. Three specialties — diabetes/endocrinology, gastroenterology and GI surgery, and gynecology — ranked in the top 20 in U.S. News’ “Best Hospitals” 2020-21 list. Three other specialties moved into the top 25 and three more that had been previously unranked earned places in the top 50. Each ranked specialty earned higher scores than the previous year when UChicago Medicine had six specialties ranked in the … Read More

Charles S. Winans,MD (1935-2020)

Charles S. Winans ,MD, Professor Emeritus in the Department  of Medicine and former Co- Director of the Section of Gastroenterology passed away on June 7, 2020. He was 85 years old. Dr. Winans served the Department of Medicine for over 40 years, beginning his distinguished career as an instructor in 1968 and rose to the rank of professor in 1977. He was named as the Sara and Harold Lincoln Thompson Professor in 1987 before he retired in 2008.  Dr. Winans served as Co-Director of the Section of Gastroenterology from 1980-1986. Dr. Winans was born on August 9, 1935. He attended … Read More

American Society of Hematology (ASH) Honors Michelle Le Beau,PhD and Wendy Stock,MD

The American Society of Hematology (ASH)—the world’s largest professional society of hematologists—has announced the 2020 recipients of their honorific awards and two of Department of Medicine faculty  are among them. Michelle M. Le Beau, PhD, Arthur and Marian Edelstein Professor of Medicine and director of the UCCCC, is being recognized with the 2020 Henry M. Stratton Medal for her contributions to basic hematology research. The Stratton Medal is one of ASH’s top prizes. Wendy Stock, MD, Anjuli Seth Nayak Professor in Leukemia, was selected for the 2020 ASH Mentor Award for her contributions to the professional development of numerous hematology trainees at various stages in … Read More

An alternative for the brain tickler? UChicago scientists explore saliva testing for COVID-19

Originally published in UChicago News 6/24/2020 Digital testing method could yield new information on virus, course of disease “It’s like having your brain tickled through your nose.” “Longest five seconds of my life.” “Not for the faint-hearted.” The swab to take the COVID-19 test, known as a nasopharyngeal swab, is not a pleasant experience. To obtain a thorough sample, health care workers need to scrape deep in the nasal cavity. More concerningly, the swab sticks themselves fell in short supply during the early stages of the COVID-19 crisis in the U.S., limiting the number of tests providers could run. But … Read More


Congratulations to the following Department of Medicine faculty who were recognized by the Biological Sciences Division with Distinguished Faculty Awards.  Each person demonstrated an outstanding record of accomplishment and service to the University of Chicago and were selected from amongst many outstanding nominees in each award category by the members of the Faculty Advisory Committee, who carefully reviewed their nominations. 2020 BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES DISTINGUISHED FACULTY AWARD RECIPIENTS: DISTINGUISHED INVESTIGATOR Lucy Godley, MD, PhD Hospira Foundation Professor in Oncology  Senior Award Hae Kyung Im, PhD Assistant Professor of Medicine (Genetic Medicine) Junior Award DISTINGUISHED CLINICIAN Chih-Yi Liao, MD Assistant Professor of Medicine … Read More

ASCO 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting – Unite & Conquer: Accelerating Progress Together

Originally reported in The Forefront on June 3, 2020   The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Annual Meeting is a highly anticipated event that showcases clinical oncology advancements from across the globe. Usually, the ASCO meeting bring tens of thousands of oncologists and healthcare professionals to Chicago every year. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, ASCO decided to move the event to an online platform, offering three days of live and on-demand programming, covering the latest findings from clinical research studies of novel treatments, to diagnostics, survivorship and optimization of cancer care. This year, the meeting took place from May … Read More

UChicago Go Forward:Planning the Resumption of Programs and Operations on Campus

The University of Chicago is committed to establishing a safe campus environment that will enable the resumption of our most fundamental academic and research activities. A team of physicians and leaders from UChicago Medicine is providing expert guidance on the conditions under which students, faculty, other academic appointees, and staff could aggregate in various venues on campus. With this guidance, University leaders are planning for COVID-19 management and campus operations under a range of possible scenarios. For more information click here:

AACR Recognizes Michelle M. Le Beau, PhD, with 2020 AACR-Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) has selected Michelle M. Le Beau, PhD, FAACR, to receive the 2020 AACR-Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research. Dr. Le Beau is the  Arthur and Marian Edelstein Professor of Medicine and director of the University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center (UCCCC), a position she has held since 2004.  She also serves as Director of the Cancer Cytogenetics Laboratory. Dr. Le Beau is an internationally renowned leader in the field of cancer genetics and is heralded for using cytogenetic and molecular genetic tools to identify critical recurring abnormalities in … Read More