2023 Janet Rowley Research Day Poster Winners

The Department of Medicine is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Janet D. Rowley Research Day poster competition. Over 60 posters were reviewed and scored by 3 judges each, comprised of DOM section chiefs, vice chairs & Research Day Committee members, to identify the top submission in each category: basic science research, translational research, clinical research and health service/medical education/social science research.   Please join me in congratulating the following awardees: Faculty Best Poster Winners: Samantha Gunning (Nephrology): Clinical Research – “Impact of Fluid Overload on Patients Receiving Continuous Dialysis for Acute Kidney Injury” Evgeny Izumchenko (H/O): Translational Research – “A … Read More

Gokhan M Mutlu, MD appointed to the National Advisory Environmental Health Sciences Council

Gokhan M Mutlu, MD, Professor of Medicine and Chief, Section of the Pulmonary and Critical Care was appointed by the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) to serve on the National Advisory Environmental Health Sciences Council (NAEHSC). The National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Research Advisory Councils are consulted by and provide advice to the NIH Director concerning pertinent programs. NAEHS is a congressionally mandated body that advises the secretary of HHS, the director of NIH, and the director of NIEHS on matters relating to the direction of research, research support, training, and career development supported by NIEHS. … Read More

Department of Medicine Faculty Named to “Top Docs” List

Chicago magazine’s list of “Top Primary Care Doctors,” published in January 2023 has recognized 4 Department of Medicine faculty as the best in the area. Deborah Burnet, MD- General Internal Medicine Kamala G. Cotts, MD- General Internal Medicine Mindy Schwartz, MD- General Internal Medicine Stacie Levine, MD- Geriatrics & Palliative Medicine The data for these lists is collected and analyzed by research company Castle Connolly and based on recommendations from peers on clinical excellence, bedside manner, education and board certification. It is one of several “Top Docs” lists the magazine publishes throughout the year.

Monica Peek,MD,MPH- Recipient of 2023 University of Chicago Diversity Award

Monica Peek,MD,MPH is among  six members of the University of Chicago community who has been named as a recipient of the University’s 2023 Diversity Leadership Award which recognizes University faculty, students, staff and alumni who have shown a commitment to fostering justice and equality. Dr. Peek is the the Ellen H. Block Professor of Health Justice, associate vice-chair for research faculty development in the Department of Medicine, executive medical director of community health innovations, associate director of the Chicago Center for Diabetes Translation Research, and director of research/associate director of the MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics. She is a renowned … Read More

Matthew Sorrentino,MD- Appointed Interim Chief, Section of Cardiology

Matthew Sorrentino, MD has been appointed as interim chief of the Section of Cardiology effective January 16, 2023. Dr. Sorrentino succeeds James Liao, MD who has accepted the position of Chair of Medicine at the University of Arizona, College of Medicine in Tucson. Dr. Sorrentino currently serves as the Department’s Vice Chair of  Clinical Operations, director of the cardiology outpatient practice, and associate director for the Bucksbaum Institute for Clinical Excellence.  He began his career at the University of Chicago in 1980, as a student in the Pritzker School of Medicine.  He graduated from our internal medicine residency and our … Read More

Differences in gut microbiome linked to risk of death in COVID-19 patients with respiratory failure

A new study finds differences in gut bacteria and metabolites among COVID-19 patients admitted to the ICU, offering possibilities for preventing the worst outcomes. In early 2020, Bhakti Patel, MD, a pulmonary and critical care specialist at the University of Chicago Medicine, and Matthew Stutz, MD, who was a critical care fellow at the time, had an idea for a research project. They wanted to study the gut microbiome of patients admitted to the ICU to see if it could help them understand why some patients recover and do well after discharge from the hospital, and others continue to suffer from … Read More

Two Medicine faculty honored with distinguished service, named professorships

Two Department of Medicine faculty members have received distinguished service professorships or named professorships. Everett Vokes,MD  has been named distinguished service professor and Mark Anderson, MD,PhD has received a named professorship. Everett E. Vokes,MD, Chair of the Department of Medicine, has been named the John E. Ultmann Distinguished Service Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Radiation and Cellular Oncology effective January 1, 2023. Dr. Vokes has a distinguished career in clinical and translational research involving head, neck and lung cancer, and is an internationally renowned expert in treating these malignant tumors. His scientific focus has been on early-phase translational … Read More

UCM receives ‘Center of Excellence’ designation from PKD Foundation

The University of Chicago Medicine has been recognized as a Center of Excellence by the Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD) Foundation for its work caring for patients with Autosomal Dominant PKD (ADPKD), a life-threatening genetic disease that is a leading cause of kidney failure. The South Side health system is one of only 28 organizations across the country to earn the foundation’s top designation. PKD Centers of Excellence are selected after an extensive review process. Only those with patient-focused, comprehensive care – coordinated and supported by a patient navigation team – are selected. Led by renowned nephrologist Arlene Chapman, MD, UChicago Medicine’s PKD treatment program is a national … Read More

2023 Janet Rowley Research Day: Keynote Talk, Schedule and Activities

2023 Janet Rowley Research Day Tuesday, March 7, 2023   The Department of Medicine’s 2023 Janet D. Rowley Research Day will be held on Tuesday, March 7, 2023. This year’s keynote speaker will be David S. Wilkes, MD,  Dean Emeritus and the James Carroll Flippin Professor of Medicine Emeritus at the University of Virginia School of Medicine  National Director of the Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Dr. Wilkes’ talk entitled “Pursuing a Career in Academic Medicine: Lessons for Success”  will take place during Medicine Grand Rounds at noon.  

UChicago Medicine’s Digestive Diseases and Heart & Vascular centers earn high marks on Newsweek’s 2023 World’s Best Specialized Hospitals list

The University of Chicago Medicine has been recognized as a top specialty hospital, ranking among the best in the world for nine clinical areas, according to a 2023 list published by Newsweek. In particular, the academic health system received high marks for its renowned gastroenterology and cardiology programs, ranking #19 and #25 respectively and taking top honors in the state of Illinois. “The UChicago Medicine Digestive Diseases Center boosts a long legacy of innovation and excellence in patient care and advancing the science of medicine,” said David T. Rubin, MD, Chief of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition and Director of the Digestive Diseases Center. “We … Read More