Thomas Gajewski,MD,PhD receives immuno-oncology award from ESMO

The European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO) has named Thomas Gajewski, MD, PhD, Abbvie Foundation Professor of Cancer Immunotherapy in the Ben May Department for Cancer Research and Professor of Pathology and Medicine a, as the recipient of the 2019 ESMO Immuno-Oncology Award for his groundbreaking work uncovering why some patients are resistant to immunotherapy and how to restore the anti-cancer immune response.

Dr. Gajewski investigates and develops new treatments for patients with melanoma, with a focus on immunotherapy. Dr. Gajewski also leads development of immune-based therapies for other cancers, using new laboratory data on how the immune system is regulated to develop novel clinical trials. His work has helped bring cancer immunotherapy into the mainstream, where it has had a considerable impact on patient outcomes.




Originally published in The Forefront, 12/5/2019