Patricia Kurtz, MD Recognized with Gold Key Award

Patricia Kurtz, MD , Associate Professor of Medicine (Section of General Internal Medicine) has been selected as a 2018 recipient of the Medical & Biological Sciences Alumni Association’s Gold Key Award in recognition of her 38 years of service to the Department of Medicine, Biological Sciences Division and The University of Chicago.

Dr. Kurtz received her MD from the University of Chicago’s Pritzker School of Medicine (PSOM) in 1977, where she was inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society. She completed her internal medicine residency at Michael Reese Hospital in 1980 and upon completion was appointed as an instructor in the Department of Medicine. She was promoted to Assistant Professor in 1984 and associate professor in 1997, the position she currently holds.

Dr. Kurtz is an active clinician and medical educator. She provides clinical expertise for adult patients in the Primary Care Group and teaches students and residents in both clinical and didactic settings. She cares for a large panel of her own primary care patients, many of whom she has cared for over decades.

Dr. Kurtz is an elected Master in the PSOM’s Academy of Distinguished Medical Educators. She has been chosen as  a “Favorite Faculty” by the PSOM  graduating class many times and is the 2009 recipient of the Gold Humanism Award. Within the Department of Medicine, she has recognized for her educational contributions with the Resident Teaching Award on several occasions.

The Gold Key Award recognizes outstanding and loyal service to the Division of the Biological Sciences and to the University of Chicago. The Gold Key Award is given to faculty members who are at or nearing retirement and have demonstrated honor and commitment to the University of Chicago Medicine and/or the Division of the Biological Sciences throughout their tenure. The Award is presented by the Medical & Biological Sciences Alumni Association. Several faculty members from the Department of Medicine have been presented with the Gold Key Award including Joseph Kirsner, MD, PhD; Janet Rowley, MD; and Dorothy Hanck,PhD.