Christine Babcock, MD MSc, associate professor of medicine, has been named as the interim chief of the Section of Emergency Medicine effective October 15, 2020.  Dr. Babcock received her MD from the University of Wisconsin Medical School and completed her Emergency Medicine training at the University of Chicago in 2007.  Upon completion, she joined the faculty in the Section of Emergency Medicine where she currently serves as associate professor and director of the Emergency Medicine Residency Program, a position that she has held since 2011.  Dr. Babcock also holds a Master of Science in Threat and Response Management from the University of Chicago Graham School.

Dr. Babcock has been recognized as an outstanding clinician, educator, and role model by the Emergency Medicine residents. Her passion for providing excellent education is exemplified by her many innovative contributions to the  residency program including  a redesign of the residency curriculum, implementation of a comprehensive board review program, creation of a formalized mentorship program, and advancing efforts to support a diverse and inclusive training environment.  In recognition of Dr. Babcocks outstanding work she was the recipient of the Outstanding EM Faculty Mentorship Award in 2010 and 2015, the 2018 Emergency Medicine Resident Associations National Faculty Mentor of the Year Award, and the 2020 University of Chicago GME Program Director of the Year Award.

In addition to her contributions to resident education, Dr. Babcock has made significant contributions in her role as one of Emergency Medicines International Medicine faculty. As first responder to the Haiti earthquake disaster in 2010, she led a team in the development of one of the largest acute phase field hospitals. Her role in Haiti has contributed to her international recognition as one of the upcoming leaders in global health. She also co-led the UCMCs disaster relief efforts following Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

As a leader, Dr. Babcock is President Elect of the Illinois College of Emergency Physicians (ICEP), the state medical specialty society representing more than 1,340 emergency physicians. She also serves as chair of their Finance Committee, and as a member on the Education Committee.  She is also recognized for her commitment to diversity and inclusion and currently serves as a Co-Chair for the Emergency Medicine Council of Residency Directors Diversity and Inclusion Committee. Nationally, she was recently selected as a member of the American College of Emergency Physicians Education Committee.

Dr. Babcock succeeds Dr. Linda Druelinger who is retiring from the faculty on October 23, 2020.