Dean Kenneth Polonsky, MD recently announced  the winners of this year’s annual Distinguished Faculty Awards for the Biological Sciences Division. Since 2011, the BSD Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC) has been honoring fellow faculty members for their contributions to our collective missions of excellence in education, research, diversity and inclusion, program innovation, service to the community and patient care.

Winners from the Department of Medicine are:

  • Distinguished Leader in Diversity and Inclusion
    • Monica Peek, MD, Ellen H. Block Professor for Health Justice (General Internal Medicine)
  • Distinguished Investigator
    • Bhakti Patel, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine (Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine)
  • Distinguished Leader in Program Innovation
    • Tia Kostas, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine (Geriatrics/Palliative Medicine)
  • Distinguished Educator and Leader
    • Stacie Levine, MD, Professor of Medicine (Geriatrics/Palliative Medicine)
  • Michael Reese Lectureship
    • David Rubin, MD, Joseph B. Kirsner Professor of Medicine (Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition)
  • Gold Key Award
    • Diane Altkorn, MD, Professor of Medicine (General Internal Medicine)
    • Ira Hanan, MD, Professor of Medicine  ( Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition)

This year’s winners will be honored at a ceremony on Monday, June 6 at 5:00 pm in Knapp Center for Biomedical Discovery