Doriane Miller,MD- Recipient of 2022 University of Chicago Diversity Leadership Award

Doriane C. Miller, MD, Professor of Medicine (General Internal Medicine) , interim vice chair for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion  and director of the Center for Community Health and Vitality has been named as the 2022 University of Chicago Diversity Leadership Award. She has dedicated her career to advancing health equity and addressing health care disparities.

Among her many accomplishments, Miller developed the Community Grand Rounds program, sharing information and research to improve health on the South Side. She educates trainees and faculty on the historical context of health disparities through lectures for the Pritzker School of Medicine’s Health Disparities course, tours of the South Side and service-learning experiences. Miller addressed COVID-19 issues on the South Side, meeting with local organizations and using her monthly radio program to share reliable information and encourage vaccination and other safe practices. She is also a senior investigator on a $20 million grant from the National Institutes of Health, working to establish a center to address multiple chronic diseases associated with health disparities.

Previously, Miller served as national program director of New Health Partnerships, program vice president at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and a faculty member at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey and the University of California, San Francisco. She received a Community Health Leadership award from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and is the author of two plays that address domestic violence and post-traumatic stress disorder in youth exposed to community violence.

Born and raised on Chicago’s South Side, Miller received her M.D. from the Pritzker School of Medicine and completed her medical training and fellowship at UCSF.

Each year, as part of its annual celebration of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s legacy, the University of Chicago honors faculty, students, staff and alumni who have demonstrated a commitment to following in King’s footsteps by fostering equality and justice on campus and around the world.

Other  recipients of the University’s Diversity Leadership Awards are   alum Grace Chan McKibben, AB’90, AM’90, recently retired staff member Cynthia Cook Conley, graduate student Radhika Santhanagopalan and College student Dinah Clottey.

They will be recognized during the University’s MLK Commemoration Celebration, which will be held on Feb. 21.