David T. Rubin,MD to lead the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation National Scientific Advisory Committee

David T. Rubin,MD , The Joseph B. Kirsner Professor of Medicine and Chief, Section of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition, has been named as chair of the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation (the Foundation) National Scientific Advisory Committee (NSAC) from 2021-2024. Dr. Rubin has served in a variety of roles as a member of the Foundation’s NSAC for nearly 20 years, including as chair of its Professional Education and Government & Industry Affairs subcommittees. In his  new role, Dr. Rubin will help advise the Foundation’s research, education, support, and advocacy initiatives as well as help advance the Foundation’s work to address diversity … Read More

Sonali Smith,MD- Recipient of ASCO’s 2021 Excellence in Teaching Award

Sonali M. Smith, MD, the Elwood V. Jensen Professor of Medicine & Chief of the  Section of Hematology/Oncology, Co-Leader of the Cancer Service Line, and Director of the Lymphoma Program  has been selected as the 2021 recipient of ASCO’s Excellence in Teaching Award. This award is intended to recognize individuals with demonstrable impact on trainees and who have inspired and shaped the trainee’s practice of cancer medicine.  The award underscores ASCO’s belief that teaching is as important to the future of cancer medicine as are research, care delivery, and clinical work. Dr. Smith  is a  renowned clinical investigator in lymphoma … Read More

Helen Te,MD Receives AST Physician of Distinction Award

Helen Te,MD, Professor of Medicine (Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition) has been chosen as the inaugural recipient of  American Society of Transplantation’s (AST) Physician of Distinction Award. This award is designed to recognize outstanding transplant physicians whose careers are focused on clinical care and also have a reputation as an outstanding clinician and innovator. Dr. Te is a recognized leader in the field of liver transplantation, a tremendous patient advocate, and an admired and respected role model. S Dr. Te’s name is synonymous with the University of Chicago Medicine’s Liver Transplant program, which she has led as the Medical Director of … Read More

Jennifer Pisano,MD- Appointed Interim Chief, Section of Infectious Diseases & Global Health

Jennifer Pisano, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, has been appointed as interim chief of the Section of Infectious Diseases and Global Health (IDGH)  effective July 1, 2021. Dr. Pisano will succeed David Pitrak,MD who will retire from the Department of Medicine effective June 30, 2021 where he served as chief for nearly 20 years. Dr. Pisano received her MD at Rush Medical College in 2005 and completed her internal medicine residency training, infectious diseases fellowship training and advanced fellowship training in infectious diseases/transplant infectious diseases at the University of Chicago. She is also a graduate of our Summer Program in … Read More

Emergency department maintains HIV screening despite pandemic interruptions

While other medical systems across the country failed to maintain HIV screening volumes throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, the University of Chicago Medicine maintained screening volumes by including universal HIV screening alongside COVID-19 testing in its busy emergency department, according to a new report published April 12 in JAMA Internal Medicine. Through targeted efforts to maintain infrastructure and enthusiasm for HIV screening, the number of HIV tests remained at pre-pandemic levels while the rate of acute HIV diagnoses actually increased. Widespread screening to diagnose individuals newly infected with HIV is a key part of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) plan … Read More

Halina Brukner,MD & Michelle Le Beau,PhD- 2021 Gold Key Recipients

Halina Brukner, MD, Professor of Medicine (General Internal Medicine) and Dean for Medical Education, and Michelle Le Beau, PhD , the Arthur and Marian Edelstein Professor (Hematology/Oncology), have been selected as recipients of the Medical & Biological Sciences Alumni Association’s  2021 Gold Key Award in recognition of their many years service to the Department of Medicine, Biological Sciences Division and The University of Chicago. Dr. Brukner has served the University of Chicago, the BSD, the Department of Medicine and the Section of General Internal Medicine for 35 years as an outstanding clinician, educator and leader.  She completed her medical school education at New … Read More

Medicine faculty named to Chicago magazine’s list of Exceptional Women in Medicine

Chicago magazine recently released its list of Exceptional Women in Medicine that includes nearly 30 faculty from the Department of Medicine. Cardiology- Jeanne De Cara Dermatology- Diana Bolotin, Victoria Barbosa, & Arlene Ruiz de Luzuriaga Endocrinology/Pediatric  Endocrinology- Tamara Vokes, Christine Yu, Diane Deplewski GI: Helen Te, Carol Semrad Geriatrics/Palliative Medicine: Stacie Levine, Monica Malec Hematology/Oncology: Simona Chivu, Gini Fleming, Lucy Godley, Olwen Hahn, Hedy Kindler, Rita Nanda, Toyosi Odenike, Funmi Olopade, Sonali Smith, Wendy Stock Infectious Diseases: Kathleen Mullane Internal Medicine: Diane Altkorn, Deborah Burnet, Kamala Cotts , Mindy Schwartz, Monica Vela Nephrology- Mary Hammes Pulmonary/Critical Care- Mary Strek The … Read More

Olufunmilayo Olopade,MD Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Dr. Olufunmilayo Olopade,  the Walter L. Palmer Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine and Human Genetics and the founding director of the Center for Clinical Cancer Genetics and Global Health, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.  Dr. Olopade joined the Department of Medicine/Section of Hematology/Oncology in 1991 where she specializes in cancer risk assessment and individualized management for the most aggressive forms of breast cancer. She is recognized as a pioneer in cancer genetics, and her contributions have shed light on the origins and heterogeneity of breast cancer in diverse populations across the African Diaspora. Her laboratory was … Read More

Vineet Arora,MD- Appointed Dean for Medical Education

Vineet Arora,MD, the Herbert T. Abelson Professor of Medicine (General Internal Medicine) has been appointed as Dean for Medical Education  of the Biological Sciences Division effective July 1, 2021. Dr. Arora received a BA from Johns Hopkins University and MD from Washington University Medical School. She completed her residency in internal medicine, a year as chief resident, and fellowship in general internal medicine at the University of Chicago, and received a master’s from the Harris School of Public Policy. In 2005, she joined the UChicago faculty. Dr. Arora is currently the Herbert T. Abelson Professor of Medicine, Assistant Dean for … Read More

Study suggests high vitamin D levels may protect against COVID-19, especially for Black people

A new research study at the University of Chicago Medicine has found that when it comes to COVID-19, having vitamin D levels above those traditionally considered sufficient may lower the risk of infection, especially for Black people. The study, published in JAMA Open Network on March 19, retrospectively examined the relationship between vitamin D levels and likelihood of testing positive for COVID-19. While levels of 30 ng/ml or more are usually considered sufficient, the authors found that Black individuals who had levels of 30 to 40 ng/ml had a 2.64 times higher risk of testing positive for COVID-19 than people … Read More