Deborah Burnet, MD-  Recipient of ACLGIM Chief’s Recognition Award

Arlene Chapman, MD

January 20, 2017

Deborah Burnet, MD, Professor of Medicine , Chief, Section of General Internal Medicine and Vice Chair for Faculty Development has been selected as the 2017 Association of Chiefs and Leaders of General Internal Medicine (ACLGIM) Chief's Recognition Award. This honor is given to a General Internal Medicine division chief who most represents excellence in division leadership as a mentor role model and advocate.

Dr. Burnet is a 1989 graduate of the University of Chicago’s Pritzker School of Medicine and a graduate of the Department’s combined internal medicine- pediatrics residency training program. In 1993 she was recruited to the faculty as an Instructor of Medicine and Pediatrics and was promoted to Professor of Medicine & Pediatrics in 2007. From 1998-2004 she served as the Medicine-Pediatrics Residency Program Director. In 2003, she was appointed Chief of the Section of General Internal Medicine and in 2005 as Vice Chair for Faculty Development.

As a program innovator, Dr. Burnet currently directs the LUCENT (Leading Urban Primary Care Education and Transformation) HRSA-funded training program for residents and faculty development in primary care leadership, across Departments of Internal Medicine, Pediatrics and Family Medicine at the University of Chicago and serves as the Co- Director for the SGIM’s LEAD program , a year-long leadership development program for academic general internists. She has developed and led several community based programs to address obesity and diabetes risk in African American youth and families on Chicago’s South Side.

The Association of Chiefs and Leaders of General Internal Medicine provides a professional home for general internists who are leaders, or who aspire to become leaders, within academic and/or clinical medicine . Selection criteria for the award ranges from mentorship, program development, recruitment and retention, advocacy, and role modeling. Dr. Burnet is only the 11th individual to receive this highly competitive award. She will accept her award on April 19, 2017 at the ACLGIM Annual Dinner in Washington, DC.